We Love Canada!

Working in the travel industry our team has plenty of opportunity to explore the world around us.   We LOVE hopping on a plane and discovering new international destinations to share with our clients.   As much as we love having overseas adventures, we also take the time to explore and appreciate our world here at home.  Whether it’s a short drive from our homes or across the country, there is SO MUCH to explore right here at home.

In honor of Canada’s 150th birthday this year, we took the time to write about some of our favorite moments and places around the country and wanted to share them with you.

Ile-de-la-Madeleine, Quebec
Amanda Campbell – Leisure Travel Consultant

Quebec Amanda2

“I went to Ile-de-la-Madeleine for a French workshop in July a few years ago.  I flew to Charlottetown, and then took the ferry across to the island.  It was beautiful.  All hilly and the ocean was great. You had to be careful as there were jellyfish in the ocean.  I went canoeing with our group into little inlets and caves.  It was really neat.

The people all speak French there are it’s a Quebec island.  The harbor/boardwalk has lots of little shops and restaurants.  The souvenirs were so unique at that time, such as soap that looked like a Neapolitan Fudgsicle.  They had a little aquarium there with a seal, and many other little local marine life.  There were excursions that you could go swim with the seals in the ocean.  It was a great experience.”

 

Vancouver, British Columbia
Helen Klassen – Corporate Travel Consultant

Vancovuer Helen

“I am always amazed by the beauty of B.C. My last trip was to the incredible city of Vancouver where you can experience the ocean, mountains and forests.”

Rocky Mountains, Alberta
Joanne Pidwerbetsky – Leisure Travel Consultant

Canmore Joanne 2

“What could be better than biking in the Rockies, definitely a work out!!!”

Calgary, Alberta
Heather Peters – Marketing Coordinator

Heather Calgary

“For me, a very special trip within Canada was quite a few years ago when I had the opportunity to truly experience Calgary with one of my oldest friends.   We did a ton of shopping, visited the Olympic park (and did some bobsledding!), participated in the white hat ceremony tradition, had mind blowing meals and so much more.   I had never had a reason to visit Calgary (other than the airport of course) and this weekend getaway completely exceeded my expectations of the city.  Take the time to visit Calgary as a tourist and you’ll be pleasantly surprised!”

 

Southern Saskatchewan
Marcy Melnyk – Corporate Travel Consultant

Cyprus Hills 6 Marcy

“Beautiful, pristine and serene Saskatchewan landscapes!”

Manitou Beach, Saskatchewan
Charles Street – Administration

Manitou Beach pano heather

“Coming from the coast, I missed being in close proximity to the water. This made it all the greater when we decided to gather the extended family and take a trip over to Manitou Beach for a day of BBQ, games and lakeside relaxation.”

 

Stanley Park, British Columbia
Czarina Sastaunik – Leisure Manager

Seawall

“Nothing beats amazing views of the gorgeous Pacific Ocean, bordered by beautiful Stanley Park.  The Vancouver Seawall is an absolute favorite of mine.  Can’t wait to go back!”

 

Kelowna, British Columbia
Annette Frey – Corporate Travel Consultant

IMG_7789

“One of my favorite places to go is Kelowna.  They have wonderful wines and beautiful weather.”

Newfoundland
Colleen Lorenzen – Operations Manager

Colleen Newfoundland

“Our best trip in Canada would have been our trip to Newfoundland.  We had the opportunity to visit the Viking settlement at L’Anse aux Meadows on the western coast of Newfoundland.  It is a National Historic Site and the village has been rebuilt as it would have been at the time.  The best part is the actors that work there that are dressed in period costumes and play the part of Vikings as they would have lived then.  The interaction with them can be very interesting and funny.  I hope you take the opportunity to visit Newfoundland soon.  You won’t be disappointed. “

 

Northern Saskatchewan
Karen Katelnikoff – Leisure Travel Consultant

Karen Lake
My favorite Canadian trip is the one I take almost every weekend in the summer, to the lake. The lake gives me the same feeling of refreshment as travel does. We don’t always have the time to take long vacations but it sure it great to have a weekend escape. There is nothing like gathering the family and hitting the highway. The best part about our campsite is that our phones don’t have the best reception. It is just like going on a big trip, the phones get left at the door and we can have fun together. Every day can be what we choose. It can be a day of adventure with water sports and fishing or a day of leisure on the beach or by the campfire.”

 

Cape Breton Island
Jamie Milton – Managing Partner

Cape Breton Vista Jamie
I love our home country of Canada and as much as I enjoy traveling the world, I am a big advocate for also seeing our own beautiful Country from coast to coast.  One of my favorite places is Cape Breton Island – it is almost like traveling to another world.  From small town kitchen parties and Ceilidh with folk singing and dancing… to unbelievable drives with incredible vistas and the freshest of seafood – this friendly place quickly makes you feel at home.  One of my fondest memories is meandering our way along the Cabbot Trail with a 3 year old in tow…we took our time stopping for hikes and fishing and to play at the beach.  Don’t forget to stop at the Alexander Graham Bell Museum to fly a kite and explore the picturesque town of Baddeck!  It’s a place where you need to take your time and get into the local’s easy pace of enjoying life and each other’s company.  I am looking forward to returning one day soon!”

Regina, Saskatchewan
Elena Kube – Corporate Travel Consultant

The Saskatoon Valkyries vs the Regina Women_s Tackle Football team of the WWCFL Elena

“Saskatoon Valkyries vs. the Regina Women’s Tackle Football team of the WWCFL”

 

Revelstoke, British Columbia
Casie Schmidt – Leisure Travel Consultant

Revelstoke2 Casie

“Road trips are my favorite! Yes, flying to places gets you there faster but I enjoy the journey getting to the destination. I have family that live in Revelstoke and I hadn’t been out there in about fifteen years so I thought it was time I went for a visit. Plus I wanted to go snowboarding and my auntie lives 5 minutes from the mountain, win, win! My friend and I drove to Calgary and spent the night there then snowboarded at Lake Louise before heading to our final destination. Between Golden and Revelstoke travel was not recommended. We decided to still go anyway just taking it slow. It may have been one of the scariest drives of my life but definitely worth it! We snowboarded two days and one of them I even got to enjoy with my cousins. Revelstoke is my favorite mountain so far and I highly recommend it if you ski or snowboard.”

 

Prince Edward Island
Debra Michell – Accountant

Prince Edward Island

“I’ve dipped my toes in the water from coast to coast, Vancouver Island to PEI, and in the southern most point of Canada at Point Pelee National Park, ON.  One of my favorite “Canada trips” has to be PEI.  Staying in Charlottetown and driving around the Island, Anne of Green Gables, the fall foliage, the red sand beaches, coming across a closed lighthouse but the owner just gave us the keys and said bring them back when you are done exploring … everything about this trip was fantastic!”

 

Spy Hill, Saskatchewan
Correna Tymchen – Leisure Supervisor

snake

“We made the long trek from Saskatoon to Spy Hill, this trip by car is about 4.5 hours each way.  Did you know in the time it takes me to drive to Spy Hill I could have flown to Puerto Vallarta? Just saying!

We made the trip to Spy Hill to help our mom get her yard ready for the winter, pull out the garden mow the grass and put away all her summer yard stuff.  Well, all of a sudden I heard this horrendous scream and seen my sister freaking out, she had seen a little tiny garder snake.  I then see my mom with the garden hoe swinging at the ground like a mad women, I go over to see what the heck was going on and tried to stop mom from committing murder as I could have moved the snake to the field behind the house.  As you can tell in the photo above sadly I was too late.  RIP Hisssss!”

 

Moraine Lake – Alberta
Kyra December – Leisure Travel Consultant

moraine lake kyra 2

“In summer last year, my boyfriend and I took a road trip to Edmonton, Banff, and then camped at Anglin Lake, Saskatchewan.  First stop was Edmonton to enjoy some retail therapy at the West Edmonton Mall and meet up with some friends for some great food.  After spending two days in Edmonton, we decided to head on over to Banff to see Moraine Lake and Lake Louise. This was both our first times visiting both these lakes and they are both beautiful with my favorite being Moraine Lake.  We spent one night in Canmore to be close to Banff so that we could visit Banff a couple times before heading back to Saskatchewan to finish our road trip with some camping at Anglin Lake.  We tented and enjoyed some campfires, fishing, walking and just relaxing.  This road trip was my favorite Canada travel so far and I plan to venture further out in our beautiful country!”

 

Johnston Canyon – Banff National Park
Stephanie Afseth – Leisure Travel Consultant
Steph Canyon

“My favorite Canada memory is hiking Johnston Canyon in Banff National Park. The first time I went, my husband and I were just dating and we found this beautiful waterfall. I told him that I wanted to be proposed to under this waterfall. Well, it didn’t happen but we went back to Johnston Canyon the year after we got married and hiked back down to the same waterfall. It’s off the main path, so no one else was down there. It was just us and the roar of the water.”

To see more of our Canada travel photos check out our video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFt6wWmPhRc

What is your favourite Canada travel moment?   We would love hear from you!

If you are planning a trip within Canada this summer, be sure to give us a call!  We’re here to help and you could win a free flight and Maple Leaf Lounge pass by booking with us!

Sutherland:  306-955-1449
Circle Drive:  306-934-3400

Social Media banner