Casie Goes to Italy – Part 2

I made it to the Amalfi Coast. It’s breathtaking! I’m not much for big cities so I was happy for a nice change. If you enjoy hiking this is the place for you. We’ve done three so far and they’ve all been challenging but worth every second especially the view at the top. My favorite hike was The Walk of the Gods. We started from the small town of Bomerano and ended in Positano. We explored Positano and had lunch with a beautiful view.

Another hike we did was Valle dei Mulini. On the way up we saw the view of Amalfi, old mills, waterfalls and more. At the top we were rewarded with a peaceful surrounding of trees and the most beautiful waterfall.

The most challenging hike we did was from Amalfi to Ravello. The elevation gain is 2858ft. There were lots and lots of steps upward on a paved pathway. At the time I was wondering why I agreed to this but once I was at the top I felt so accomplished.

As challenging as they are, I would prefer doing hikes rather than taking transfers to the destinations. The smells of fresh flowers and lemons mixed with the views along the way are irreplaceable. Plus picture taking is much easier when you’re standing still verse in a moving vehicle.

 

Travel tip: if you have bad knees or ankles and can’t do stairs the hikes in this area may be difficult for you and are not highly recommended as there are many steps.

 

We are staying at a local farm which is a super neat experience. Its ran by a family which makes you feel very welcomed! They have done a couple food demonstrations for us. One being lasagna and the other was Tiramisu. It’s crazy how much work they put into making fresh pasta. All the food they have cooked us has been wonderful!