Ed’s Trip to Jamaica – December 10th

Jamaica Mon – Day 3

Our alarm went off at 06:30 this morning.  Was I crazy – did I really want to golf this early?  None the less, off we went to Runaway Bay for 18 holes.  Now, transfers and green fees used to be included and all you paid for was a caddie and the cart meaning the overall cost was about $50 each.  However, now everything is extra and it ended up costing us about $100 each.

In talking with our caddie, this has really hurt the golf course and I don’t doubt it.  This resort was usually filled with many golfers and I have seen surprisingly few this trip.

We went to the course hoping to have our caddie from a couple of years ago – Vinnie.  Unfortunately he was not around and we ended up with Melbourne.  He turned out to be equally as good and he really helped Karen with her game.  She did pretty well while I on the other hand was trying out my new grip, my new swing and better follow-through.  Not so good but I’ll keep practicing.

The course was in pretty good shape but even here you could see signs of having to tighten their belts.

They have been crying for rain at the resort and we got it!  The afternoon rained off and on and we enjoyed some time in the hot tub in the rain.

Unfortunately, it was supposed to be the beach party but it ended up in the main dining room…not quite the same but still a good time.

I must say that the people on the resort have been super friendly and we are really enjoying some hot weather.  Sorry it has been so cold in Saskatoon!

Ed

Runaway Bay Golf Course - Jamaica

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.